Monday, March 19, 2012

Quacking on St. Patrick's Day

This past weekend a team from the Western New England University Admissions Office competed in the 30th annual Easter Seals Charity Volleyball tournament held at Trinity College in Hartford, CT. The tournament was split into four different divisions and team EMAS Ducks (our team name) was entered in the recreational bracket. After playing six "regular season" games, the team finished with an impressive 5-1 record, winning five in a row after dropping a tight first contest.

Once the playoffs started things began to heat up for the Ducks. After disposing of the first-round opponent, the team struggled early in the championship game, quickly getting down 13-4 to a team consisting of NBC Connecticut staff members who were also the two-time defending champions of the tournament. After huddling together to bring back the focus, the Ducks went on a roll rattling off point after point to tie and eventually take the lead. With a few tense moments, the team finally got to game point and staff member Lianne Hansen was able to place a shot nicely down the sidelines to get the final point! The EMAS Ducks took the championship by a score of 21-19 capping off an incredible comeback. 

Congratulations to the Admissions team on their impressive St. Patrick's Day victory. A special thanks must go out to team captain Brian Michaud who organized the fundraising for the event. In all, the Admissions team raised over $300 for the Easter Seals charity, which will go to help people with disabilities or special needs in the Fairfield County section of Connecticut. The rest of the team was comprised of Chris Wystepek, Michelle Kowalsky, Rachael Dietert, Danielle Langevin, Abby Meachem, myself, and coach Madeleine Bergstrom. Check out some great photos of Saturday's action!

Team EMAS Ducks: (L to R): Logan Byrnes FOX CT News Anchor, Rachael Dietert, Brian Michaud, Danielle Langevin, Madeleine Bergstrom, Lianne Hansen, Abby Meachem, Drew Guarino.
 Team captain Brian Michaud getting ready for his serve.

Pre-Tournament photo back (L to R): Madeleine Bergstrom, Michelle Kowalsky, Chris Wystepek, Drew Guarino, Brian Michaud, Danielle Langevin, Lianne Hansen, Abby Meachem, Rachael Dietert.

Team huddle prior to the championship game vs. NBC Connecticut.

The team after winning with FOX CT anchor Logan Byrnes and their victory frisbees.

1 comment:

  1. Lookin' good out there, Abigail!